Blogger Christian Bwaya: “Swahili is a sign of my africanness”

We speak with our guest, blogger Christian Bwaya  (@BwayaCN)!

Christian Bwaya

Christian Bwaya : ‘I don’t only inform people by the way I think; I also learn from my readers’

Christian has been a blogger since 2005, running the Swahili blog Jielewe. He is also a volunteer translator and editor for the Swahili edition of Global Voices.

He teaches Social Studies and Biology in Moshi while still pursuing his higher education. He is married with one child.

This interview was originally published on this blog in Swahili.

You started blogging in 2005. How did you decide to get involved with online writing?

I remember that, as a student, I was a keen follower of Ndesanjo Macha‘s, a famous writer who is now editor of Global Voices for Sub-Saharan Africa.

He was the first Swahili-language blogger [I knew]. And, to say the truth, I was very impressed by his style of writing, the debates he was engaging in on his blog as well as his mastery of the language. Thus, my motivation to blog stemmed from Ndesanjo Macha’s blog.

I viewed my blog as a good opportunity to easily debate on issues I understood well: cognitive science and science in general. There, I thought it would be easy to get a platform to exchange ideas with people without any sort of hindrance and without having to meet them in person.

I do not only inform people by the way I think, I also learn from my readers. This interaction is hard to find through newspapers and other mainstream media. So this freedom to say what I think was an important motivation for me to start a blog in 2005, while I was a student.

Even now [that I work], I still make an effort to plan my schedule well so as to be able to be a more prolific blogger.

You like to say that you are a ‘Swahili lover’. What does this language mean to you?

Kiswahili is my language. I consider it as a gift from God to me and my community. I respect it as a mark of my culture.

You know, we Africans are very unlucky in that we do not care for what is ours. As far as I am concerned, Kiswahili is a sign of my africanness. It is the vehicle through which I can easily express my ideas to my community. It is my measure of understanding; what I mean is that if I cannot explain a given concept in Kiswahili, then I consider that I haven’t understood it yet.

Kiswahili is a safeguard of education. It is a legacy. This is the reason why I am among those who believe that the decision to use foreign languages as a medium of instruction for our pupils is one of the biggest issues facing our education system, here in Tanzania.

Despite its imperfections, Kiswahili can still be of great assistance in improving understanding by our students, from the early stages of schooling up to university. This is possible, unless we are people who do not love their own culture but instead admire that of others, who themselves might not love ours.

Do you speak other languages, apart from Kiswahili?

Yes. I speak Kinyaturu fluently. This is my mother’s language and she made every effort to ensure that we communicate in Kinyaturu. It belongs to our small community, the Wanyaturu, whose traditional homelands are in central Tanzania. I hold it in high esteem.

I speak English as well, since I know it is the dominant language of education and I really love to read. But it is not close to my heart nor is it a source of pride for me.

As a blogger, what is your take on the importance of using African languages?

Internet has become the library of information. If we use Kiswahili, we will help preserve our language and give it an opportunity to be a medium of information for the Swahili-speaking community.

It is very important for those who are able to use the Internet, to share information online in Kiswahili. In so doing, we will help increase access to technology amongst our communities since our people won’t be forced to know foreign languages to learn and get information on the Web.

The world is changing. It would be a shame if our language, which has millions of speakers, failed to take its rightful place online and one day came to be among the endangered languages.

Let each of us do his or her part. This is why I decided to participate in the Swahili Lingua project. I am proud to contribute to the online knowledge bank in my own language. I know that by providing content in Swahili, I facilitate access to knowledge and information for people who do not speak foreign languages.

globalvoices_sw-badge-small

Have you got a message you’d like to pass on to our readers?

There is no greater dignity than knowing where you came from. I call upon fellow Africans to get to know and value their own culture. One of the manifestations of this self-knowledge is the way we value and develop our native languages.


This interview was originally published on this blog in Swahili.

Translation by Marie-Laure Le Guen.

One thought on “Blogger Christian Bwaya: “Swahili is a sign of my africanness”

Share your thoughts

